Skip to content
Stars Reach Hub

Is Stars Reach Free to Play? Price, Founder Packs and the 1.0 Switch

By SukieUpdated October 11, 202611 min read

Is Stars Reach free? Not yet. Stars Reach free to play starts at version 1.0. Until then, the Early Access game costs $29.99 on Steam, which is a one-time price with no subscription. The Steam store page says the studio plans to "sunset founders packs and transition to free-to-play at 1.0". Early Access is planned to last at least six months from 18 August 2026, so the earliest it could go free is around February 2027. No date has been announced.

This page covers the rest of the money question: what each of the three founder tiers adds, why the cheapest one costs the same as the plain game, whether a monthly fee is coming, and what survives the progression wipe. All prices and pack contents were read from Steam on 11 October 2026.

The three founder tiers, item by item

Steam sells Stars Reach four ways. You can buy the plain game for $29.99, or one of three Founders Editions that bundle the game with a Founders Pack. The packs are cumulative: each tier contains everything in the tiers below it. The table lists only what each tier adds on top of the one below, which is what you are really paying for.

EditionPrice with gamePack aloneWhat this tier addsUsable in play?
Stars Reach (no pack)$29.99—Early Access game only—
Firstlight Founders Edition$29.99$1.25Title 'Founding Explorer'; building prop 'Founders Flag'No: title and prop
Voyager Founders Edition$49.99$20.00Title 'Voyager'; prop 'Floating Servitor Head'; Ballhog Hat; Founders T-Shirt; Groundsuit; 'Heroic' emoteNo: cosmetics and props
Cosmonaut Founders Edition$79.99$50.00Title 'Galactic Explorer'; Spacesuit; Jumpsuit; 'To The Stars' emote; Grav Mesh and Grapple toolsYes: two traversal tools
Read from the Steam store and Founders Pack pages on 11 October 2026, at full price (the 35% Autumn Sale ended 8 October). 'Pack alone' is the price of the DLC by itself for people who already own the game.

Never buy the plain $29.99 game

On 11 October 2026 the Firstlight Founders Edition and the plain game were both $29.99. Steam applies a bundle discount to the edition. Choosing the plain game gets you the same thing minus a permanent title and the Founders Flag.

Voyager is the weak tier; Cosmonaut is a mobility purchase

Leave out the titles, hats and emotes and the ladder comes down to one question: do you want the Grav Mesh and the Grapple? Voyager costs $20 more than Firstlight and adds nothing you can use in play. If cosmetics are worth $20 to you, the extra $30 for Cosmonaut at least buys two tools as well.

Those tools are not exclusive to the pack. The 8.7.0 build notes tell all players to "repair your Grav Mesh if needed" after a durability fix. The 8.5.0 notes fix a visual bug from "using 2 Grapple utility tools". SmashPad's reviewer was handed a grappling gun during the tutorial. Both tools are part of normal play. The Cosmonaut versions get them to you sooner, and the build notes do not say whether the founder copies differ from regular ones in any way. Nothing in any tier is a weapon, a resource or a crafting bonus, so none of the packs is pay-to-win as sold today.

You can also upgrade later. Each pack is listed on Steam as separate DLC: Voyager costs $20.00 and Cosmonaut $50.00 if you already own the game. The sums work out evenly. Firstlight at $29.99 plus the $50.00 Cosmonaut DLC comes to $79.99, the same as buying the Cosmonaut Founders Edition up front. Upgrading later costs nothing extra. That makes Firstlight the low-risk choice. Buy it, play past the two-hour refund window, then decide whether the tools are worth $50 to you.

FOUNDER TIERS: PRICE AGAINST ITEMS USABLE IN PLAYFirstlight $29.990 usable itemsVoyager $49.990 usable itemsCosmonaut $79.992 traversal tools
Our chart, from sourced figures. Our own reading of the Steam Founders Pack pages, 11 October 2026. Steam lists each pack's full inherited contents, which makes the tiers look more different than they are. Counting only usable items shows the Voyager gap.

Is there a subscription or monthly fee?

No. Stars Reach has no subscription, no monthly fee and no recurring charge of any kind. You pay once for Early Access, and the plan is to drop the price to zero at 1.0. Playable Worlds has not announced a subscription, premium currency, battle pass or cash shop, and we found none in the store listing or the build notes.

People keep asking because of the game's family history. Ultima Online and Star Wars Galaxies, the two MMOs Raph Koster is best known for, both charged monthly. A single shared server running a continuous world simulation is also expensive, and in the 2000s that usually meant a subscription. The studio has gone the other way, and the likely reason is population. A game whose economy, XP and towns all need other players cannot afford a paywall that keeps people out. With SteamCharts showing a 30-day average of 23.12 players on 11 October 2026, the population problem is plain.

What has not been published is how the game will make money after 1.0. A free price does not tell you the business model. It could mean cosmetics only, an optional subscription, or convenience purchases. The only evidence so far is what the studio sells today: titles, outfits, emotes, building props and two traversal tools. Every item in the game is player-made, so selling gear directly would undercut the game's own economy. That points towards cosmetic and convenience sales, but it is our inference, not an announcement.

  • Whether anything sold affects resource yield, crafting quality, progression speed or combat. That would break the player-made economy rather than add to it.
  • Whether a subscription appears as an optional extra rather than a requirement. Nothing published rules that out.
  • Whether founder owners get anything at the switch. Nothing is announced. The only stated promise is that founder items survive the wipe.
  • Where it is announced. The official build notes and the Steam news feed will carry it first. Treat anything earlier as speculation.

When does it go free?

There is no date. The Steam store page has two relevant statements. First, "Our current goal is to remain in Early Access for at least 6 months". Second, "Player feedback will help shape our 1.0 release plans." Six months from the 18 August 2026 launch is 18 February 2027, and that is a minimum, not a forecast. Early Access games in this genre often run past their first estimate. This one spent its first weeks fixing launch stability. Raph Koster said on 4 September that the team had "published nine updates in the last two weeks", and the work queued for the next two updates (combat, Ranger, Leadership, building controls, expanded storage) is still feature-building, not final polish.

As of 11 October 2026 the studio had published nothing new about 1.0, the wipe date or the free-to-play switch since launch. The official roadmap page says it is "not a list of promises" and gives no dates. Our release-date page tracks this and will change the day a date appears.

Here is one way to read it, labelled as our view. Free-to-play is also how the studio plans to fix its population problem. A studio watching a 30-day average of about two dozen players has every reason not to rush the switch before the game can keep the newcomers it brings in. It also has every reason not to wait too long.

What survives the wipe, and what does not

Free-to-play and the wipe need to be read together, because together they decide whether buying now buys anything lasting. The Steam store page says the studio expects "a progression wipe before we transition out of Early Access", in which "some player progress will be reset". It also says "your Founders Pack and Kickstarter Backer items and other purchased or granted account entitlements are yours and will remain tied to your account through the wipe".

ItemThrough the pre-1.0 wipeSource wording
Founders Pack items (titles, cosmetics, props, Grav Mesh, Grapple)Kept"Founders Pack… items… will remain tied to your account"
Kickstarter backer rewardsKept"Kickstarter Backer items"
Other purchased or granted account entitlementsKept"other purchased or granted account entitlements"
Player progressReset, at least in part"some player progress will be reset"
Exactly which progress (skills, homesteads, Klaatus, crafted items)Not specifiedNo itemised list has been published
The game itselfFree to everyone at 1.0"transition to free-to-play at 1.0"
From the Steam store page's Early Access section, read 11 October 2026. 'Not specified' means the studio has not said, not that it is safe.

Correction to earlier versions of this page

Earlier versions of this page, and much of the coverage elsewhere, said the wipe deletes 'skills, buildings and crafted goods'. The studio's actual wording is 'some player progress will be reset', and it has not published a list. Plan for a full reset of anything you earned in-game, but do not treat any specific list as confirmed.

Pay now or wait: the trade-off

The usual reason to buy early is to get ahead. Here the wipe removes the head start and the 1.0 switch removes the price, so the trade comes down to this:

Buy Firstlight now ($29.99)Wait for free 1.0
Play immediatelyYesNo. February 2027 at the earliest, no date announced
Progress you keepNot guaranteed; some progress is reset before 1.0Starts at 1.0
Founder itemsYes, permanentlyNo. Packs are planned to end at 1.0
Who you play withA 30-day average of 23.12 concurrent playersUnknown. A free launch is the studio's best chance to grow it
Build qualityEarly Access, patched oftenWhatever 1.0 ships with
Ongoing costNoneNone announced
Our comparison, built from the Steam store commitments and SteamCharts (11 October 2026).

Who should still pay before it goes free

There are two groups for whom paying now makes sense. The first is people who enjoy Early Access for its own sake: reading build notes, testing systems and giving feedback while it still changes the game. The studio has published notes for five updates since 2 September, so there is a lot to follow. The second is sandbox-MMO veterans, especially from Star Wars Galaxies and Ultima Online, who want to be there while the world forms under the same lead designer. For both groups, Firstlight at $29.99 is the sensible entry point. Upgrade to Cosmonaut later through the $50 DLC only if you find you want the tools.

Everyone else should wishlist it on Steam. Steam notifies you when a wishlisted game goes on sale, and the game will show up on your wishlist when it changes. The Autumn Sale cut every edition by 35% until 8 October, so if you want founder items, it is worth waiting for the next Steam sale.

Common questions

Is Stars Reach free to play?

Not yet. It costs $29.99 on Steam during Early Access. The studio plans to make it free to play at version 1.0, which has no date. Early Access is planned to last at least six months from 18 August 2026.

When will Stars Reach be free?

No date has been announced. The earliest it could happen is around 18 February 2027, six months after launch, and the studio calls that a minimum, not a target.

Does Stars Reach have a subscription?

No. There is no subscription and no monthly fee. You pay $29.99 once for Early Access, and the game is planned to be free at 1.0. The post-1.0 business model has not been published.

Which Stars Reach founder pack should I buy?

Firstlight. The Firstlight Founders Edition costs the same $29.99 as the plain game. Voyager adds $20 of cosmetics only. Cosmonaut adds the Grav Mesh and Grapple tools for $50 more, and you can buy it later as DLC.

Are the founder packs pay-to-win?

No, as sold today. The packs contain titles, cosmetics, emotes, building props and two traversal tools that are also part of normal play. Nothing in them gives combat power, resources or crafting bonuses.

Do founder packs survive the wipe?

Yes. The Steam store page says Founders Pack items, Kickstarter backer items and other purchased or granted entitlements remain tied to your account through the wipe.

Will founder packs still be sold after 1.0?

The studio says it plans to sunset founders packs at the 1.0 transition, so the founder items will stop being available.

Can I upgrade my founder pack later?

Yes. Steam sells each Founders Pack as separate DLC for people who already own the game: Voyager $20.00 and Cosmonaut $50.00 (read 11 October 2026).

Will I get my $29.99 back when the game goes free?

Nothing has been announced that would refund or compensate Early Access buyers at 1.0. What you keep is your founder items. Steam's normal refund window is two weeks and under two hours of playtime.

Is it cheaper to buy Cosmonaut now or upgrade later?

It costs the same. The Firstlight Founders Edition ($29.99) plus the Cosmonaut Founders Pack DLC ($50.00) totals $79.99, exactly the price of the Cosmonaut Founders Edition (Steam, 11 October 2026). Starting with Firstlight leaves the decision open until you know you like the game.

Do I have to pay for anything else after buying Stars Reach?

No. There is no subscription, cash shop or premium currency in Early Access. In-game purchases such as paints and dyes from the starbase Tool Shop cost Klaatus, the in-game currency, not real money.

Is Stars Reach on sale?

Not on 11 October 2026. The game and all three Founders Packs were 35% off in the Steam Autumn Sale until 8 October and are back to $29.99, $49.99 and $79.99.

Sources for this page

Every factual claim above traces to one of these. Where two sources disagreed, the disagreement is stated in the text rather than resolved silently.

  1. 01Stars Reach on Steam — store page and Early Access statement — Prices of the plain game and the three Founders Editions ($29.99 / $29.99 / $49.99 / $79.99); 'sunset founders packs and transition to free-to-play at 1.0'; 'at least 6 months'; wipe wording and the items that survive it. Read 11 October 2026.
  2. 02Stars Reach — Firstlight Founders Pack on Steam — Contents (title 'Founding Explorer', Founders Flag) and standalone DLC price $1.25, read 11 October 2026.
  3. 03Stars Reach — Voyager Founders Pack on Steam — Contents (title 'Voyager', Floating Servitor Head, Ballhog Hat, Founders T-Shirt, Groundsuit, 'Heroic' emote) and DLC price $20.00, read 11 October 2026.
  4. 04Stars Reach — Cosmonaut Founders Pack on Steam — Contents (title 'Galactic Explorer', Spacesuit, Jumpsuit, 'To The Stars' emote, Grav Mesh, Grapple) and DLC price $50.00, read 11 October 2026.
  5. 05Playable Worlds — Starside, 2 October 2026 — Steam Autumn Sale: game and all three Founders Packs 35% off through 8 October.
  6. 06Playable Worlds — Crafted in Color Update 8.7.0 — Grav Mesh durability fix ('Make sure to repair your Grav Mesh if needed'), showing the tool is part of normal play; paints and dyes sold for 1,000 Klaatus per 50 uses at the starbase Tool Shop.
  7. 07Playable Worlds — Ground Control Update 8.5.0 — Fix for 'using 2 Grapple utility tools', showing the Grapple is part of normal play.
  8. 08Playable Worlds — Starside, 4 September 2026 — Raph Koster: 'nine updates in the last two weeks'.
  9. 09Raph Koster [developer] — 'Some of the upcoming changes', Steam discussions — Contents of the next two updates (10 October 2026, Pacific).
  10. 10SmashPad — REVIEW: 'Stars Reach' is a lonely sandbox MMO (2 September 2026) — The reviewer was given a grappling gun during the tutorial.
  11. 11SteamCharts — Stars Reach (app 1925650) — 30-day average 23.12 concurrent players, read 11 October 2026.
  12. 12Playable Worlds — Roadmap — 'Not a list of promises'; no dates.
  13. 13Raph Koster — Announcing Stars Reach — Studio lineage through Ultima Online and Star Wars Galaxies.
  14. 14Playable Worlds — Advancement and Skill Trees — 'Every item is player-made', the basis for the inference about post-1.0 monetisation.
  15. 15Steam Refunds policy — Refunds within two weeks of purchase and with less than two hours of playtime.
Sukie, editor of Stars Reach Hub

Sukie

Editor, Stars Reach Hub

Sukie is the editor of Stars Reach Hub. She has followed sandbox MMOs since the Star Wars Galaxies era and covers Stars Reach through its Early Access period.

Last reviewed October 11, 2026 · How we fact-check

Back to Should You Buy · or return to the Stars Reach homepage.